The Student Success Alliance (SSA) serves as the primary leadership team tasked with oversight of all Graduation Initiative plans and implementation. This includes oversight for the development of the 5-year strategic enrollment management (SEM) plan.

The SSA's composition (rotating 2-year membership) is designed to provide different perspectives regarding GI 2025 initiatives and includes:

Student Success Alliance (SSA) / Steering Committee (Spring 2020)
Provost and Vice President designee (co-chair)vacant
University Senate Chair (co-chair)Monty Mola
University PresidentTom Jackson   Ongoing
Vice President, Enrollment Management designeeStephen St. Onge Ongoing
Vice President, AdvancementFrank WhitlatchOngoing
Vice Provost, Academic ProgramsCarmen Bustos-WorksOngoing
Executive Director, ODEIEdelmira ReynosoOngoing
President, Associated Students designeeBreannah Rueda Ongoing
College Dean RepresentativeRosamel Benavides- Garb  
Faculty – CAHSSHeather Madar
Faculty – CPSJen Maguire
Faculty – CNRSJorge Monteiro
Staff (Non-Voting)
AVP Office of Institutional Effectiveness (OIE)Elavie Ndura  
Director University Budget Office (UBO)Amber Blakeslee 
Director of Academic Resources (Provost's Office)vacant
Interim Chief Information Officer (ITS)Bethany Rizzardi

Other subject matter experts are consulted as appropriate.

The Student Success Alliance (SSA) is a working group charged with providing guidance, expertise, and recommendations regarding Graduation Initiative (GI) 2025 activities. The SSA also provides recommendations regarding the distribution of GI2025 funding that align with campus priorities and Chancellor’s Office (CO) guidelines on the appropriate/mandates use of GI2025 funds, which are a component of the University's Operating Fund (HM500) budget. Those recommendations are then finalized by the Office of the Provost and, in line with campus budgetary practices, reviewed by the University Resources and Planning Committee (URPC) and Campus leadership. In addition, SSA recommends plans (e.g. Strategic Enrollment Management plan) and processes (e.g. funding requests) that will allow HSU to achieve retention, graduation, and equity/opportunity gap goals. 

Genesis and Formation of the SSA

Inspired by the Reimaging First Year (RFY) student success committee formed during the 2015-2016 Academic Year, the SSA was first proposed as part of the April 2017 GI2025 report to the Chancellor’s Office and was conceived as a response to the needs expressed at HSU (and system-wide), for increased oversight and steering to guide GI2025 efforts. The formation of the group was driven by the desire to have cross-campus representation and expertise and was informed by examining how other CSU campuses had formulated their GI2025 groups.

The first meeting of this group occurred in Fall 2017. The goal of bringing this group together was to provide structure and transparency to the implementation and evaluation of GI2025 efforts as well as to provide support for campus leadership in making decisions regarding the appropriate use of funding identified for use with GI2025 initiatives when available. 

Strategic Enrollment Management Plan and SSA

Starting in Fall 2017, HSU embarked on creating a new Strategic Enrollment Management (SEM) plan focused on increasing the recruitment and retention of HSU students. The initial drafting of the plan was completed by two councils: the retention and recruitment councils. These cross-campus groups built upon the past work of the RFY group as well as the environmental scan provided by the office of institutional effectiveness (OIE) as well as other sources, to create a 5-year SEM plan focused on increasing retention and recruitment across all student groups. Given the close tie between retention and fulfilling the goals of GI2025, the SSA was utilized in Fall 2017 through Spring 2018 as the steering committee for the final formation of the SEM plan. The SEM plan now serves as the roadmap for guiding retention and recruitment effort at HSU.

SSA and GI2025 Funding

At the formation of the SSA group, funding for GI2025 was somewhat limited and additional recurring funding was not anticipated. As such, discussions and efforts focused primarily on SEM plan formation through Spring 2018. In late July 2018, funding was approved for GI2025 efforts by the CA legislature (SB 840) and the Governor. By Fall 2018, funds had been allocated to the 23 campuses for use on specific areas/efforts to support GI2025 goals (for example, 33% of funding was earmarked to support tenure-track hiring). The funding provided to HSU in AY 2018-2019 came with a specific requirement regarding evidence of efficacy (through assessment) and reporting on usage.

In addition, six defined categories were identified where, along with faculty hiring, GI2025 funding could ONLY be utilized:

  • Academic Preparation: all students are afforded the opportunity and support needed to complete 30 college-level semester units (or 45 quarter units) before beginning their second academic year. 
  • Enrollment Management: ensure students are able to enroll in the courses they need when they need them
  • Student Engagement and Well-Being: address the well-being of all students while fostering a strong sense of belongingness on campus
  • Financial Support: financial needs do not impede student success and progress toward degree attainment
  • Data-Driven Decision Making: use of evidence and data to identify and advance the most successful academic support programs
  • Academic Barriers: identify and remove unnecessary administrative barriers that slow progress toward degree attainment

Approximately thirty-three percent (33%) of the GI2025 funding received in AY 2018-2019 was required to be allocated toward tenure-track faculty hiring. The SSA, at the start of Fall 2018, recommended additional funding (~$375,000) for faculty hires to bring the total percent spent for AY 2018-2019 on faculty hiring to 48% of the funding allocated. The remaining 52% of the recurring GI2025 funds are currently under consideration.

The SSA provides recommendations, based on their roles and expertise regarding the distribution of GI2025 funding across the six categories listed above along with faculty hiring. These recommendations are considered by the Provost who will create the final recommended distribution of funds. This funding matrix will then be reviewed by URPC in line with University-wide budgeting best practices. In this way, the SSA acts like a divisional unit by putting together a recommended budget for review by URPC and, ultimately, campus leadership. For AY 2018-19, the Chancellor's office has mandated that all 23 campuses report by November 15, 2018, on how they plan to allocate the funding provided (no extensions). This has added a level of urgency to the formation and review process for this year's funding model requiring an acceleration of the review and distribution process. 

In collaboration with the campus' Integrated Assessment, Planning and Budget (IAPB) initiative, the SSA has developed a principled and transparent mechanism for requests of 2019-20 GI2025 funds. Go here to find out more.